Lawrence M. Krauss

Lawrence Krauss
Lawrence M. Krauss
Theoretical Physicist; Foundation Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration and Physics Department, ASU; Author, The Greatest Story Ever Told . . . So Far

Theoretical physicist LAWRENCE M. KRAUSS is Foundation Professor in the School of Earth and Space Exploration and Physics Department, and Inaugural Director of the Origins Initiative at Arizona State University.

Krauss is the author of over 300 scientific publications, as well as numerous articles on physics and astronomy. He is the author of ten books, including the international bestseller The Physics of Star Trek (1995) and A Universe from Nothing (2012), which immediately became a New York Times bestseller. 

He is the recipient of numerous awards for his research and writing and is the only physicist to have received the major awards from all three US Physics Societies. His Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize from the American Physical Society (2001) summarizes his impact "For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the early universe, and extraordinary achievement in communicating the essence of physical science to the general public." In 2005 he was also awarded the Joseph P. Burton Forum Award from the American Physical Society for his work on issues of science and society. In 2012, he was awarded The National Science Board’s prestigious national Public Service Award for his many contributions to public education and understanding of science around the world.

Krauss frequently contributes to newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal and regularly appears on television and radio. Hi is also the subject of the new full-length feature film The Unbelievers, which follows Krauss and Richard Dawkins around the world as they discuss science and reason. In this regard he has dedicated his time, throughout his career, to issues of science and society and has helped spearhead national efforts to educate the public about science, ensure sound public policy, and defend science against attacks at a variety of levels. He serves as the chair of the Board of Sponsors of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, and is on the Board of Directors of the Federation of American Scientists, and helped found ScienceDebate, which, in 2008 and 2012, helped raise issues of science and sound public policy in the Presidential elections in those years.