David J. Gross

DAVID GROSS, a particle physicist and string theorist, is the director and holder of the Frederick W. Gluck Chair in Theoretical Physics at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship in 1987, the Dirac Medal in 1988, and along with Frank Wilczek and David Politzer was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics for his discovery of asymptotic freedom.